If you’re configuring an IOS router remotely with a chance of losing the device, most engineers might decide to do a reload in 5 before starting. If you happen to lose connection to the box after a change, the router will reload in 5 minutes erasing any unsaved changes. This works, but is less than ideal. It can take a few minutes for a box to reload. What happens if the box is looking after multiple customers as well? There is a better way. Just revert the config. Using this is pretty trivial. You do need to turn on the archive command first though.
Posts with the tag ios: